• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Making a new tether

devildog

So I am in the process of setting up a sit drag RC combo right now and need to make a new tether. I was thinking about setting it up with 10mm rope and one prusik and one ropeman like Bowhunter15 is using. I have been using a saddle for a few years now but I have never done any DIY. Where do I order the rope from, any brand recommendations and how many feet?

I appreciate any help you guys can give me.

treestuff.com is a great place to order from. Most of the tethers I've made start out between 12 and 14 foot. This leaves plenty of room to tie the knots. I create my tethers on the larger side so that I can hang from almost any tree I find in the woods.

redsquirrel said:
treestuff.com is a great place to order from. Most of the tethers I've made start out between 12 and 14 foot. This leaves plenty of room to tie the knots. I create my tethers on the larger side so that I can hang from almost any tree I find in the woods.

I just remembered that I was using that much when I wrapped the tether around the tree twice. With a rope tether you really don't need to, so you probably won't need quite that much.

I use sterling superstatic rope in the 9mm diameter which works well. Run that through a ropeman and your good. I like the idea of using the HSS as it is ready made but I still think that if you can tie your own knots why not make something for less.