• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Mountain house meals

Scoutman

With my upcoming move to Texas, I'm going to be 1 1/2-2 hours to nearest public areas. So I'm going to make a bed platform in my truck and use camper shell for a tent. I've been hunting in Colorado for last 10 years and have eaten alot of mountain house meals, anyone have any better options? They aren't bad but you might know something better.

If you read through the backcountry section, there is a member who was making his own meals for backcountry hunts. Might not work for you but it might be a nice change of pace. I've eaten the mountain house stuff for a long weekend and it takes good but by the time I got home my body was not thrilled with me lol.

I'm partial to the chicken and dumplings, polenta, Texas state Fair chili, tortilla soup, and banana pudding.