New guy from Northern Michigan!

Discussion in 'Welcome!' started by Toad, Nov 11, 2017.

1. Toad

Toad New Member

Hello all,

Big bowhunter here from NW Michigan (lower peninsula). I absolutely love hunting public land and finding those hard to reach places few people dare tread to. I did live in central Illinois for 5 years and spent a lot of time hunting public land down there as well. I have been using a lone wolf hang on setup for the last several years but have always been looking for ways to be lighter and stealthier. I have been interested in the saddle option for a few years now and finally, after seeing some DIY options, have taken the plunge into putting one together myself. After snooping around the site for awhile I decided to use a sit-drag in conjunction with a rock harness (the added security of the rock harness gave me more peace of mind as a first timer). I ended up connecting the sit drag to the harness with a few straps I added so it is always in place. I am amazed at how comfortable this style of hunting is and its safe to say I am hooked! I have only hunted out of it once so far and I was able to bag an 3.5 y/o 11 point on public land on that first sit, good luck I guess!

I look forward to learning more about saddle hunting and tweaking my setup. I am currently using my lone wolf climbing sticks to ascend the tree and a couple wild edge steps as my hunting platform. The platform and climbing sticks/steps are something I will want to be experimenting with next, I feel like the lone wolf sticks are still a bit cumbersome to strap to my backpack.

Looking forward to learning more about saddle hunting!

NManitou and ricky racer like this.
  2. pinebarens

pinebarens Member

Congrats and welcome ! Just spent the last week in the saddle for the first time in love it will never go back to hunting Stand s

okie_edward and redsquirrel like this.
  3. redsquirrel

redsquirrel Administrator
    Staff Member

Welcome to saddlehunter! :D

4. blbloomquist