• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New to Saddle Hunting from NY

ForesterDave

New to the saddle hunter forum. I have been kicking around the idea of trying a saddle for a few years now. Ordered a Kestrel which I just received in the mail. Very happy with it thus far. I have been experimenting with it in the basement, and I have some questions about the setup.

I noticed a lot of guys on here use fairly short bridges. I have an adjustable bridge on there now to try and find a suitable length for me. I am 6' 5" and i seem to be favoring a longer bridge.

What are the advantages of the shorter bridges vs longer? Is there a reason to keep it as short as possible without losing comfort?

Also, I see a lot of saddle guys talking about their bridge length. Where is that measurement taken? Eye to Eye?

Welcome to the forum. Yes the measurement is taken from eye to eye for length of bridge including any caribeners, rings etc

Welcome to the site! It’s a plethora of info and ideas. I’m also trying to decide on if I want to keep the standard bridge length on my Kestrel or shorten it. Also might use some webbing instead of rope. Good luck and keep us posted on what you decided to do.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welcome to the forum! Where in NY? Always nice when some northeasterners join the saddle addiction! I’m in Orange County

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk