• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Rifle break in

Erniepower

Vendor Rep
Do you guys go through the effort to "break in" a new gun? This is my first time trying it. It takes forever!

bb6705292183f0895f3eb8a3d5821b0b.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

I don't know if it really makes a difference. I just shoot and clean after some target practice. It will break in on its own after so many shots. How many? I don't know. Seems like after one shot with a clean bore all the pores of the barrel will be coated with copper. If that's the case then one shot and it's broken in!

Its a tikka super lite in .270.

I bought it for this back pack elk hunt I have coming next month.

5 hours, 50 shots fired, and 20 cleanings later, in done and have no idea if it will make a difference. My shoulder is sore though

Honestly I don't know, I got tired and sore. All I did was shoot at 50 yards with cheap ammo. A return trip will be needed. I chronographed all my shots though and was surprised at the spread. Almost 200 fps over the 50 shots without a real trend one way or the other.

Oh I want to try that on one of my rifles...... how hard is it? I assume it's a special paint?