• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

What size stabilizer y'all use in the tree??

Mauidiver

I'm new at this saddle hunting thing and while playing around in a tree I started thinking about my bow size. I just got my new to me e35 with no stabilizer and wondered what size y'all use. Thanks for any help....

mines a trophy ridge 6". I don't think a longer one would affect it much, except if you had to go between the tree and you.

I went to one that is around 11 inches. It has not hindered my movements at all. I was concerned initially, but it really has not caused any issues.

I've been using a backbar setup for several years now. 8" out front and 6" on the side to offset the sight and quiver weight. Never hindered me at all and really helps settle the bow down when your adrenalin is cranking!

I use a 10” front bar and a 8” back bar. Is it needed for hunting? No. But I like to hunt with the exact setup I practice and shoot 3D with. I haven’t had any problems with 10” ( probably longer with quick disconnect) out front and I have found a couple of added benefits to using this setup. I can carry my bow over my shoulder holding onto the front bar when I’m not in any thick stuff and it balances well. I can also rest the back bar on my leg while sitting/ leaning in my saddle waiting for a shot opportunity. This takes some of the fatigue out of holding the bow in an upright position.