• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Why hasn't saddlehunting become more mainstream?

Pats1512

Hey guys,

I've been looking at this forum for information for a while and haven't posted much but the more I saddle hunt the more this bothers me. For a long time I worked in marketing at Thompson Center (at that time the masters of marketing) and have been around the hunting industry a long time. There is too much that makes sense about where the industry has gone with companies like Sitka and Kuiu that the modern day hunter who is often more athletic and looking for the best way to hunt would not quickly jump on this. So I've come up with two theories:

1. I think a big pocket marketing company has not told the story of saddle hunting benefits to this point that make people interested.

2. With Tv cameras in play and often not so Professional Pro hunters they are not willing to get into a saddle.

3. Saddles don't have exposure with Big Box (Cabelas, Bass Pro)

It frustrates me because I do feel this industry is one campaign away from being the next big thing. But I believe it will take someone creating a Sitka like campaign and not throwing Michael Waddell in a tree saddle. Glad I got that off my chest, hopefully in the next few years someone sees the opportunity here and saddle hunting becomes the next big thing.

Trophy line had a road trips saddle and it was sold at the big box stores. Still didn’t take off.