• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Preventing tether slide

I'm not getting into the tree hole/screw in argument, but I did have a similar issue with my tether falling down, I tried those stupid castration bands and they did hold the rope but were a pain to adjust for different sized trees, so I cut a few inches off of a black nite-tize cargo wrap and wrapped it around my tether, easy to move can tighten and hold when I want it to.

I’m a total newbie but I use a tether for my safety harness. I put a carabiner on the eye of the tether a then I have a prussic on the other side that wraps around the tree and on the carabiner I pull the prussic tight and there’s no slipping. I hope I explained it right.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
81ce1f117c4fa0bfce17e9f30672bae5.jpg

Pictures are better than explanations.

Last edited:
I started out using the electrical grommets,
(castration bands evolved from them).
In the beginning they were cat's a. $. $.,
But as others have said ,"a pain to adjust" & I agree.

My latest fix for the possible sliding has been; either 550 para, or 6mm utility cord tied to the tether with a "bobber stop" or otherwise called a slip bobber knot.?
Maybe the knot has a name...??? But leaving about 1-1/2" tails with stopper knots on each end makes a pretty simple stop that has been working for me since late last season and till present with satisfactory results.
Give it a go~~~