• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

How do you decide what method?

I'm still very new to the mobile hunting game, but here's my plan for the upcoming season (along with my reasoning):
Known trees I have time to prep: Screw-in steps or pre-drilled holes for bolts (easiest and quietest for multiple hunts)
Known trees I don't want to drill into (oaks, fruit trees on private; everything on public): 3 Hawk Heliums with a 2-step aider on the bottom (heavy to carry, but pretty easy to use)
Unknown trees on smaller private parcels: Bolts and Tree Hopper hand drill (I assume I'm more likely to hunt the same tree multiple times on a smaller private parcel, so having it pre-drilled for the next time is worth the additional hand-drilling work vs. sticks)
Unknown trees on larger private parcels: 1 Helium (w/ aider), hand drill, and about 10 bolts (still pretty easy to carry a long distance and can easily get 12-15 feet by drilling only above where my Helium can reach)
Super quick hunts at new spots: 2 Heliums (w/ aider) (light and fast, can get to 12 feet or so very quickly and quietly)

Again, I'm no expert, so I'm all ears if others have intel/better experiences or options to share--correct away!