• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Biggest obstacles during hunting

SaddlePredator

This is my first year in thw saddle and had shot some targets, but what is the biggest obstacles from the saddle set up during a hunt? Is the tree tether or platform an obstacle in anyway or does it just depend where the deer is? What are your thoughts on limiting factors of a saddle or what did you do to alleviate them?

If you’re not in saddle shape you’re gonna be uncomfortable until you are and that only comes from sitting. I don’t feel the tether is limiting because you’re gonna be rotated anyway to take the shot. Your stance is different shooting from a saddle vs stand so continue to work on that. I guess a limiting factor of a platform, especially if you’re running a smaller one is trying to rotate around a tree for a far side shot but if you’re using a RoS that shouldn’t be a problem or if you’re using a larger platform that’s set correctly you should be able to step off the side with confidence

"Don't be finding out new stuff when the time comes to know what you're doing" - Crusty Old Army Sergeant.