• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

8mm or 11mm - Ropeman 1 or Kong Duck

Hellir

I am new to saddle hunting. I just got my platform and saddle from TETHRD. I really like their company and their products. I was originally going to go with their only options for ropes and mechanical prusiks, which was their only option at the time. The 11mm lineman’s and tether ropes with the Ropeman 1. Now they have the 8mm with the Kong Duck. I realize this isn’t new to the rope world but it is new to me because I’m not deep in the climbing world. Or even saddle hunting at the moment. Learning though.

Can anyone help me with this debate? Why should I choose one over the other. I am 6’4” 230lb and have big hands. To me, the 11mm ‘feels’ safer because it is thicker. I understand that technically the 8mm rope is rated for more though. When I was first learning about saddle hunting, all the videos were of people using the Ropeman 1 so I got used to that being the way to go. They made it look like it works really smooth. I was able to try the Kong Duck not too long ago and, for me, it seemed difficult to use. Again, I am new and had never used it before. Just didn’t seem as smooth. But then again, I’ve never used the Ropeman 1 before.