• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Any love for longer ATA bows?

Barking Mad

I have always been a great fan of target- style bows for hunting. Anyone else here?
I have been shooting an 39" Elite Victory for four years now and cannot see any reason to change.
Not the fastest, naturally, but very smooth and forgiving.

Last edited:
I like a bow that’s in between a super short ata and a target bow. Probably around 35”. Anything longer and it becomes trouble sometimes maneuvering around the thick stuff I hunt

Matthews traverse, had another 35” pse evolve before that. But with a long draw it’s relative....

36” ATA Perfexion. 32.5” DL not a lot of options for me. Had a Bear attitude but string angle was bad

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Anyone shoot a Hoyt Double Xl? That seems to be the only newer bow with my draw length, well besides a Bowtech BTX MAG but I am weary of Bowtech.

My first bow was a cheaper Hoyt around 2001. At that time all bows were longer. I think it was 34-36” ata. I loved that bow. Then got a bowtech that was like 30” and it was nice but I loved that cheap Hoyt. So last year I researched a lot and found the bowtech realm x. It’s a little over 34” ata. I love it. Enough that I’m considering finding a deal on another used one to set one up for 3d. And if anything happened to my hunting bow in season I could swap and not miss a beat.