• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Best Black Socks for Long Hikes?

PastorKen

I am a student in the Naval Chaplaincy School. In a few weeks we will be spending three or four days straight outdoors. We have two Marine Corps Gunnery Sergeant’s who will be in charge of us during that time. There will be a lot of hiking with full backpacks. I have a good pair of boots. I need socks. They have to be all black. It will be in Rhode Island do Massachusetts. What socks can you guys recommend?

Darn Tough Tactical. I would go with the boot mid weight full cushion for hiking. If you are going to be standing around in the cold I would go heavy weight.

Whatever they are, they should be wool. Those ones Nosaj linked should be fine. Lifetime guarantee sounds impressive, and merino is awesome for fighting the stink.

You say you have a good pair of boots, but it’s so important that they’re broken in before you end up miles away. Wear them for everyday walking and work if possible, get em wet, sweat in them, and maybe condition the leather with mink oil or something like that. Eventually they’ll be comfy like bedroom slippers, assuming they’re sized right. Just keep adding mileage to them. Brand new good leather boots are supposed to suck.