• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Better Friction Hitch?

TonyGreenway

Hey guys! Just thought I'd put this out there. Personally, I find standard prusiks to be a pain because they get so tight over time that they can be difficult to adjust without resetting it. If you're a big guy like me (6' 2" and 240 lbs), you may have experienced this yourself. I use a schwabisch hitch instead. I've been climbing as an arborist for 14 years, and I've found the schwabisch to be my favorite friction hitch for my flipline (lineman's belt), and works just as well on a tether. They just don't get bound as often under a heavy load. It is easy to tie, but you need to use a split tail, rather than a prusik loop. (Most prusik loops are long enough to be tied into a split tail.) Schwabisch hitches also work better with a tender than a prusik. Most people are probably fine with a prusik, but my fellow big boys may want to try the schwabisch. If anyone has any questions, or wants more info on using a split tail rather than a loop, just let me know.

@TonyGreenway so you like swasbasch better than a distel hutch?