• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

DIY PROJECT: 2 Sit Drag with D rings

Upatreew/j

So I've been coming to this forum for a few years now and love it. Finally decided to join!

I have 2 sit drags that I am thinking about trying to make into a an Overwatch Transformer type saddle. I have all of the materials (I think) just wondering if anyone has tried or heard of anyone trying this? Still could use some pointers as I am not sure how it might work and don't want to start something if its going to fail.

My current plan is to sew a strap onto the bottom of the bottom sit drag that will connect and be sewn to the tip of the top sit drag. Doing this on both sides with a d ring on each side.

The bottom sit drags loops I would sew into the strap. And the top sit drags loops I would fold in half and sew for lineman loops.

Adding adjustable straps to connect the bottom and top sit drag so they stay together.

My question I guess (as I have never owned a d ring style saddle) would one strap be enough or does a d ring set up need 2 straps per sit drag?

Aby insite or help would be awesome!

Glad to be apart of this cool group!

Two thoughts.....

First - if you have the means to sew everything yourself start with one strap and see how it goes. You could always add a second.