• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

First time summer scouting

Jwiggins762

I live in south Alabama where right now it's hot as hell. I've been trying to get early starts for scouting right at day break to get in the woods for a couple of reasons. The first is snakes, I tend to see less when its early in the morning. The second which probably has something to do with the first is the heat. It's my first year scouting for the most part out of deer season and especially in the summer. I got a late start yesterday and I didn't see any snakes but the heat got to me and I only took one bottle of water thinking I had two in my book bag. I almost didn't make it back to the truck before passing out and felt that way for a few hours. When I got home I took a cold shower that helped me out a lot. I am glad I went because I did find some beds and good sign and can even do an observe hunt from over 300 yards away before I setup. Anyways my question is what are some of your summer scouting tactics when it deals with the heat and do you only scout to a certain time in the day?