• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Frame pack recliner

Grasshopper

Today my distraction from work was envisioning a saddle system kind of similar to the jx3. Possibly without the rigid seat, but with a semi rigid backrest that in turn doubles as a frame for a pack. I'm not too good with a sewing machine, but I know a few folks here like to dabble so I figured I'd share this thought. I imagine a packframe something like a pop-up so you have freedom of movement above the shoulders. I guess the pack would have to be easily removed and reattached, so that it could be hung up in the tree and accessed. Then throw in a load shelf for those successful hunts. Maybe the jx3 has been modded a little bit like this already by someone I don't follow all threads.

The problem is it has to be wider than your sides so the strap doesn’t dig in. By the time you make that, buy a hybrid. If it’s narrower than you, then it’s the same as a cloth backband.

I use a sit drag with a battle belt with a built in lineman's belt I tie the lineman's in with my bridge. It makes a pretty decent recliner. I was thinking if the straps connecting the frame to seat run over the padded waist belt it would feel nice. Although I'm not very wide.