• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hawks “Hangout Tree Seat “

Slowclimb53

I am completely new to saddle hunting and came across hawks “hangout tree seat” it’s rated for 300 lbs and it says for ground use only. With the safety equipment used in saddle hunting could this be used For a platform. There may be safety issues I’m overlooking or just don’t know.

3000_HANGOUT_Studio_1_High_Res__95020.1524856102.1280.1280__82310.1531338691.jpg

I have one that I am in the process of tweaking for this purpose. Basically, they only part of this that will work is the actual seat. Start by scrapping the tree brackets as a minimum. They suck at handling side pressure. Replace with lone wolf, XOP, or Double Step brackets. You will need to drill a hole in the post below the strap or completely replace the post with one made from 6061 Aluminum. The seat will handle the side pressure better with better tree brackets and moving the seat lower on a post. There are other threads on here that go over this. I am new to saddle hunting and following some of the other threads as I build mine. My build is not complete yet. But this will get you started.