• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

I'm confused about proper draw technique between compound and trad

HuumanCreed

SH Member
Still an trad infant after reincarnating from a compound life. I noticed I'm still carrying over some mechanic in my form. When I used to draw compound, it was usually my bow hand a little higher than target, and pulling back to anchor and lowering to target was one motion; elbow a little high. This is all self-taught via videos online and this was what I found most comfortable.

What I see from trad drawing is you pull straight back with the bow hand always center to target. Using all back tension. This is hard even on 30lbs because I notice my elbow is wobbly. Granted I expect to be better once I built up the different muscle memories. But is their a basic principle that I'm missing in why the draw form is different? Is it just the fact that there is no release so your hand/finger rotation are different? I keep hearing that drawing trad is like trying to elbow someone off your back. Why dont compound user use that principle if it seem to be the prefer method for trad?

I noticed I am drawing the trad bow like a compound bow instinctively unless I actively try not to. Should I really focus on stopping this or if I found my comfort style, that I can use it even if its not the 'proper' way to draw?