• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Issue bareshafting

Squirrels

Looking for some input. I will preface this by I'm not technical when it comes to bows. It's not something I have set aside time in my life yet to verse myself on. Like many others I have gone down the rabbit hole of heavier arrow build. I ordered the ethics field point test kit and a 2 different model arrows in 3 different spines (5 arrows total). I went out Saturday and began some testing. Before I did anything I moved my rest back to center shot on my bow according to what the manufacturer recommends. Nocks were kicking left at 10 yards regardless what combo I shot in terms of spine and point weight, at 20 yards I was getting no left nock kick. I moved my rest out and out and out (left handed bow) at 10 yards trying to resolve the left kick and it finally got "better" with the rest at the 1.25" to 1.5" mark (whisker bisquit). Another note, with this bow I've always had to have the sight pins significantly outside the string/arrow alignment.

What next?? Looking for some advice/input from some of you more experienced folks. I did not shoot any yesterday becasue I was so frustrated after my Saturday experience.

Last edited:
What’s your bow model, draw weight and draw length and arrow spines and length that your trying out?

Sent from parts unknown

What’s your bow model, draw weight and draw length and arrow spines and length that your trying out?

Sent from parts unknown