• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Minimalist Pioneer Steps- my 1st thoughts

3lilpigs

Disclaimer: I'm a newbie. I dig SRT climbing when I can pre-set, and I like my WE Stepps. And beyond that, I've only ever hunted from ladder stands or on the ground. So my experience is limited. But these things are a game changer for me.

The bad: They're kinda pricey, when you look at the three pieces of material. A little machined aluminum, a little amsteel, a buckle. $23.99 if you buy it pre-made, $15.61 if you do the assembly work yourself. Not entirely unreasonable, but $240 = a 10-step set = approximately 15-20 feet up a tree. And right now the pre-made ones are out of stock, so you can only buy the DIY kits. And while the DIY is easy work, holy CRAP is it tedious. 29 or 30 locked brummels and two 8" buries for each step. I have seven made so far. Each one takes a little bit less than an hour now that I've got it down. People who struggle with "DIY" should probably just forget it. In fact, unless you're a skinflint like me or have some other design in mind for the amsteel sling, the extra money for the pre-made version is more than worth it. And that's the only bad thing I can say: it took more money and time than would be perfect.