• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

My First Yellow Jacket (tm) Saddle Build *** Complete 1 lb 7 oz

bj139

Edit: People have asked me what I was going to name it and then I thought of a name.
It is "The Yellow Jacket(tm) Saddle". Good enough.
:D

Today was the first time I took something that wasn't a saddle and made it into a saddle. I have been practicing with my sewing machines to good effect for the past several months. I received my V-92 polyester and V-92 Kevlar thread a few days ago. I wanted to build a sling seat, something like a playground seat for a swingset, similar if not exactly the same as a sitdrag. I found this heavy duty trucker's strap which breaks at 16,000 lbs. I figured this should be strong enough and more importantly it should support my butt in comfort. I took out my Necchi, made in Taiwan sometime in the 90's, sewed a bit on the strap with V-92 polyester and it seemed good but then jammed. I figured trying to unjam the V-92 by force might break smething on the Necchi so I cut the thread and pulled out my Morse home machine which outweighs the Necchi by 13 lbs. This machine, in testing, had previously pierced three layers of sewn webbing from a Trophyline saddle without stopping. I was impressed. It did not disappoint today. It sewed through 4 layers of the truckers strap easily. I plan to add a safety waist belt and some molle webbing to hang a pouch and to keep the saddle positioned just right. I didn't use the V-