• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

NC Dismal Swamp ???

Plinker22

Hello NC and VA hunters.

A quick question: Does the state park “Dismal Swamp” in upper NE coastal North Carolina allow hunting?
All I have been able to find is fishing information. Anyone?

Thanks in advance. And JFYI, I am NOT going to ask if I can steal your favorite hunting spot. I am a pastor and I am using the Dismal Swamp as an intro to my message.

That's an awesome name....love to know the story behind it. We got 1 called tates hell swamp

Local legend attributes the forest's unusual name to Cebe Tate, a local homesteader who became lost in the woods in the mid 1870s. He had ventured into the woods with his hunting dog in order to shoot a panther that had attacked his livestock. The legend is often recounted with Tate becoming separated from his dogs and lost for seven days and seven nights before coming to a clearing near Carrabelle, where he lived only long enough to say to a passerby "My name is Cebe Tate, and I just came from Hell" before collapsing.

I lived right on the VA side of the dismal swamp. Just across the state line (in VA) is the Caviler Tract of Dismal Swamp WMA. a VERY overlooked little tract of public land that did very well for me. If you decide to go that route, I will happily share my HuntStand data, as I live in TN now and dont hunt there anymore!