• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New compound bow hunter - leveling the bow

Xbomberman

I just started shooting a compound bow this winter. I've crossbow hunted out of a saddle before this. I'm really enjoying the process of learning to shoot but I've only shot from the ground at this point. I'm planning to start hunting out of my saddle this September. When you're shooting out of the saddle, do you try to level the bow to the Earth even in some of the more twisted positions that you can get in with a saddle? Or is it relative to your torso?

Try to be level for the best accuracy. I pay more attention to the level in my sight in a saddle vs a stand. I prefer the sitting position for shooting and some of that is because it is more level.

Try to be level for the best accuracy. I pay more attention to the level in my sight in a saddle vs a stand. I prefer the sitting position for shooting and some of that is because it is more level.

That's what I figured was you wanted at level to the Earth, not relative your body positioning. I'm trying to figure out my stabilizer situation and feel like upgrades to my stabilizer would really help level my bow in different positions