• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New from MA

Edhead35

SH Member
Hello all, been lurking for awhile. figured I would introduce myself. I'm 38, and have been hunting about 10-11 years. I live in north eastern MA.

I've been hunting on foot in Maine with a rifle since about 2009. 2 years ago, as we developed friendships and scored some private land access, we upgraded to some Agriculture lands with wood blinds we built for the owners to use as well. I have always been terrified of heights, due to vertigo caused by a tumor I won't get into, but treating that allowed me to get over my fear of ladder stands by adding a safety harness and lifeline. Everyone laughs at me, but it gets me up a tree, and I dont want to paralyze myself, so screw em. LOL.

Last year and this year, I have started going mobile with a lone wolf assault stand and sticks, and I purchased a tactisaddle this year, a DRT kit, and most of an SRT kit. I am a big guy, but I have gone from 343lbs down to about 282 and still dropping, so being more confident on my feet has made a difference in getting over the fear of heights.

I have never shot a compound bow until December 2019 when I bought a Hoyt Powermax. This year will be the first year hunting in Massachusetts, so I can get more hunting time in near where I live, as well as our yearly rutcation in Maine. Also looking at buy some acreage in Maine in the next year, but I love using public land as well.