• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New one here

Robbo

I’ve been shooting trad bows off and on for 5 years or so but I have committed to using one this season. I feel real comfortable out to 20 yards. I see some guys kill stuff out to 30 and 40 with trad bows but isn’t it about being close? Is my 20 yard range good enough?

I’d say absolutely. Shoot at what distance your comfortable at. Try to get your setups close to where you think they will be or cross so you can get some close shots and have fun being in the woods.
Best of luck

That makes me feel good then, thank you! The Trad world is so much fun!

I agree with @Allegheny Tom. I think for every trad shooter you hear about shooting 30-40 yds you will find ten that don't shoot beyond 20. Also, I know of some guys that wont shoot beyond 20 at a whitetail but, will stretch that to 30 or so yards with a bigger target like an elk.

Personally, I like 15 yards or closer. You should listen to the Stickbow Chronicles "I hunt close" serious its full of stories of guys shooting game at sub five yards.