• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Newbie...looking for suggestions & advice

david k.

Hey guys!

Newbie here so be gentle! I have a buddy who turned me on to this site and almost solely hunts from his original Trophyline...I was able to sit in it one time and am interested in testing the waters. I've been watching videos, reading and soaking up all the knowledge I can for several weeks since the season ended here in Tennessee. I'm 56 and have been using a climber for 40+ years, Summit Vipers most recently. I am able to hunt 3-4 days a week throughout our entire season and I occaisionally leave one of the vipers in a spot for a day or two but mostly I carry them in / out every hunt. I'm 5'10 with a 38" waist and weigh about 215 pounds. Based on what I've read I think I'm leaning towards trying a one-stick climbing method, most likely with a full length Hawk Helium and a one or 2 step aider and I also feel like I'd prefer a Predator Platform over any of the steps...I'm not sure why, it just seems like that would be more comfortable for me. I usually stay in my stand for 5-6 hours on morning hunts and then about 3 hours for evening hunts and so I suspect that I'll also be more of a "sitter" than a "leaner" but I won't know until I try.