• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Newbie Woman here!

Sambow300

Hello, total newbie woman here, and looking to learn as much as I can! I recently started bowhunting public land for the first time ever this year (didn't renew our previous lease). I don't have the strength or body type to (in my opinion) safely hang a hang on stand by myself, so I've been hunting off the ground. But I've been looking more and more into saddles, and found this website, and saddles don't seem quite so scary. I do need a stick that has shorter distances between steps because I'm only 5'3" short legged lol, so any advice for that would be appreciated!

I also know hip pinch sounds like a common issue for women, so I'm trying to research the best option for a saddle. Looking forward to getting into this style!

Howdy!

Most sticks have a standard 17" spacing that you should be able to try. Beast sticks and a lot of diy stuff is modded for a longer step. You might be interested in finding or making some old lone wolf mini sticks. They are short and light.

Not really sure how to advise on the hip pinch issue. I tried pretty much every saddle available before I made my choice.

Wild edge stepps all the way
Will take a little time to learn but u choose ur spacing so it’s perfect !
Also there was another girl on here that put a double carabiner one her tree tether and it spread the angle of the bridge so she wasn’t getting hip pinch
I’ll try to find the thread