• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Platfrom

hunter1177

Looking to by a platform but not sure what's better small med xl been looking a lot at the xop edge lw seat platfrom kit seen the new smaller mission

I have not sat in a saddle yet so I have no experience. I def. gather like anything else its a personal preference. I bought a Ridge Runner platform, a ring of steps and since I already owned an XOP hand climber I will try that out as well. I don't plan on using the ROS as my main platform but steps on either side of the hand climber or RR. Where I hunt I will use my RR platform some days and will use the hand climber others. This is why I bought the RR platform instead of just running the XOP hand climber.

I was in the same boat when trying to decide. I know I'll be a sitter more than a leaner so I figured I would like a more medium sized platform since I'll be going back and forth from sitting and leaning. Who knows, I might dislike them all.

For what it’s worth I’m on my third RR platform now because I kept coming back to it after trying others. Had the Mission before and it was an awesome platform. Only reason I sold it was because it was so much like a small tree stand that I started to want to be able to sit down on a real seat while I was up there. So sold it and got a LWCG .5. But I still keep my RR for when I want to go ultra light.

My vote would be to try either the RR or the Mission.