• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Replacing the bridge carabiner??

WHW

Vendor Rep
Spent some time with my Kestrel today. Decided to see how using a bowline knot to replace the carabiner on my bridge would work. I've had a lot of experience using the bowline and find it simple, quick and easy to tie and untie, even after it's been under a load. I've never experienced any problems using it even on extreme heavy loads. Using the bowline I'm able to quickly shorten or lengthen the bridge. Even though I feel safe and like it better than the carabiner I wanted to question the more experienced saddle hunters about their opinions. What do you say?

I got rid of the bulky rope and knots and used climb spec tubular webbing, tied loops with water knots and attached with 2 small carabiners, petzl spirit I believe. I don’t find the need to adjust my bridge.
I played around with some amsteel last month and made some spliced end loop bridges. I think I will go the amsteel route. Larks head one end and carabiner the other. I like a removable bridge.

Reactions: WHW
The bowline isn’t used much in climbing. I can’t really say why. People use a double bowline and it is as bulky as a figure 8 follow through. I learned the bowline as a rescue knot to to lift someone with so I’m sure it would work. With any knot inspect regularly and leave plenty of tail.