• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

ROS vs Platform feeling secure?

Sambow300

Disclaimer, I'm a total newbie, never worn a saddle or tried a platform or ROS. I am looking into all these methods and figuring out where to start especially with what I want to stand on, the only thing I have in my possession currently is a set of Hawk Heliums.

In my head I think standing on a ROS would keep me closer to the tree and more contact to the tree with my legs, which I think would make me feel a little safer/secure than standing out on a platform. Am I totally wrong/crazy? What is your guys experience between the two on how they made you feel? FYI I'm a 5'3 woman if that makes any difference :)

i like both i feel i can get around a tree better with steps just for long sits are hunting like a week plus long your feet start to hurt you atleast it did me

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

When my wife hunts with me who is also 5'3", she gets the platform and I get the leftovers if that tells ya anything. Platform for comfort, ring of steps for mobility and packing I'd say. Some of the platforms are very easy to pack too just depending on your gear/pack set up.

From my personal experience when I transitioned from loc on stands to saddle hunting I found that a pivot platform was more familiar. With a platform you at least have the ability to stand upright, you can "stand" with a ROS but it's tricky.