• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Safety Line Rope for Rappelling

reggoh75

I'm not much of a rope expert since I'm fairly new to saddle hunting. (haven't even got my saddle order yet)
Once I get my saddle, I want to start experimenting with 1-sticking and rappelling down.

Question 1: What size and type of rope is the Millennium Safety line made of?
Question 2: Is that type of rope ok for Rappelling from 25'-30'?
Question 3: If not, what size and type of rope is recommended?

Thanks

This is the rope I am talking about. This is the tag end as it was finished from the factory.

8fedc8c45fedd4253c8a195e9406173b.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I bought five HSS safety ropes for my tree stands. 30 feet long and each has a prussic knot with carabiner. I was wondering if they could be used for SRT, or repelling as well.

I could be wrong but I think these ropes are weight rated for 300 lbs. not exactly sure they’re static rope either. I repel down a lot, just for the fun of it. Get some climbing rated rope and a decent ascender. I like my Grigri but there are others. A simple rescue 8 is fine if you learn how to tie off mid descent to remove gear. This is decent rope for srt and repelling

Attachments

• 66773C0F-471D-4806-B49B-1DE9BB95EE9C.png
    66773C0F-471D-4806-B49B-1DE9BB95EE9C.png
    613.7 KB · Views: 57