• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Shock Loading and Planning for a Fall when One-Sticking

Mattaboy

Alright gang, I'm new to hunting and saddles, so let me know if I'm off base in my stuff here. I'm trying to follow a similar setup to what G2 Outdoors covers in the video on one stick climbing, and figure out how to do it safely. There's a bunch of Math in the excel sheet linked if you wanna check my numbers.

First off: An ounce of prevention is a pound of cure. Preventing the fall in the first place is the way to go. That said, I screw things up, and don't want to rely on prevention alone.

Saddle setups generally function on static ropes. From what I've seen on treebuzz, arborists climb with static ropes as well. I can buy into the static ropes for work positioning, since I really don't want a bouncy rope messing up my shot. However, arborists have a 6x injury rate from the national average, so I want to make sure my setup is safe before I go up a tree.

The problem: falling on static ropes