• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Southeast guys, tropical systems?

ThereWillBeSpuds

Hey yall, Im based in central SC, its my first year hunting seriously and I am wondering if any of yall have wisdom to share on the effect of tropical storms and hurricanes on deer movement. Obviously Im not planning on climbing a tree in huricane force winds, but does the pressure change before or after have a marked change in deer behavior?

Does a few days of heavy rain keep deer movement down and then they get moving more than normal when it lets up?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

I’ve never noticed enough of a difference to matter before the storm. Afterward they are wired and skittish but they still gotta eat. Depend on what’s going on in the woods the ground may be covered with acorns, water levels may be high, and downed trees may have deer using a different trail than you expected.

Kinda does the same thing to deer it does to people. Lots of activity before, non during, and lots after.

Yup in hawaii we see movement before and after.... not much during... i think they can sense the atmospheric pressure change so they move around and eat or get what they need before hunkering down because they might not get a chance for a couple days if the low pressure system sticks around. Once they sense higher pressure they start moving again as they know things are going back to normal. i feel like this goes for all animals not just deer...