• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Squirrel hunting guns

Ryanp1212

I’ve always wanted a lever action local shop had a Henry frontier 22 so I bought it. Anyone have any experience with one how accurate do they shoot. Can’t decide if I want to scope it or not. I’d guess 50yards would be a long shot for squirrels in the woods I hunt.

Congrats on the new rifle! I have no experience with Henry’s so I’m not sure if this would work but I have a big bore rifle setup for dangerous game with Warne quick attach rings that are pretty slick so I can run the irons or scope, best of both worlds! The bases are low profile so I can see the sights good still.

I have a Henry 22 magnum and absolutely love this gun. Open sights and have no problem shooting squirrels up to 100 yards. Just make sure to shoot different brands of shells and find out which one shoots the best. Congratulations on your new Henry.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We use to have a great squirrel hunting place over the years my cousin and I took a lot of squirrels from. We never had a scoped rifle just an old single shot open sight 22 . So unless you have vision problems I would have to say, no scope on the Henry and you will not have a problem hitting anything within reasonable distance. It’s a great shooter