• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Thick cover questions

mike.podolan

I am still relatively new to deer hunting, and I am wondering about the “thick cover” that is consistently mentioned as the place to find and hunt deer. I’m sure some of this has been discussed, but my searches didn’t turn up all of the info I’m interested in. For some, these may seem like silly questions, but I figured I’d ask to get a variety of perspectives. I live in Michigan, so I guess I’d mainly wonder about the Midwest.

1. What, specifically, qualifies as thick cover? How would you describe it (how high off of the ground, what species of plants, how far could you see from the ground, how hard would it be to walk through, how far could you see from up in a tree, etc.)?
2. How do you hunt thick cover? From outside the cover looking in? If so, how far off? From inside the cover? If so, how deep in?
3. If you have to navigate into thicker cover, how can you do that in a reasonably quiet way? I can’t cut trails because I hunt public land.

Pictures of any setups/examples would be really helpful, too!

Below are some examples of places I’ve tried to hunt this year. I’ve seen a few does, but have yet to harvest one this year. Any insight would be appreciated!

69de18b1fadd045a864cbfbf54d27b99.jpg

e29205b99105a42fe2a2fb74b5232301.jpg

f90c798a48f2654e93d532931acaed70.jpg

47ed6c30a13a6e41ea3a659c3135e2e9.jpg

ce0d08b096bfc5ddd58967089b5386d7.jpg