• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Those that pack out

Hoythunter1861

For those that quarter/debone to pack out their deer, can you give some information on your method?
I’ve never done it before, but with moving more to public land and being further a way, I can see the benefits.
I do hunt in the south (Georgia and Alabama) and mostly worried about meat spoilage.
Any info would be awesome!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I hunt South Louisiana so I understand worry about spoiling. If I can’t get to skinning and d quartering within an hour, I gut it as soon as i can. Once I do that then I’ll stop at a store and pack ice in the carcass to keep it cool till i get it to the skinning shed. Hooe it helps

Lots of videos on folks cleaning them on the ground. If I'm going slow, it's about a half hour to quarter, grab neck and backstraps, pack up and roll. Another half hour if I'm boning them out.

I carry a 50lb plastic ice bag with blue gloves rolled up in my pack. Wear the gloves while I'm doing work, throw them in bag with meat when I'm done. Clean hands for the walk out it nice.

Load lifters and a sure enough frame pack if you're shooting 200lb deer. If you're boning out a deer under 150, you can probably slum it with a standard day pack.

Here is what I do. Individual results may vary.

I have a badlands 2200. In bow season it's in my truck. In gun season it is with me.

In it is an Alaskan game bag.