• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

WESTERN HUNTING

NWSADDLEHNTR

Hello All,
I am new to the thought of saddle hunting, never tree stand hunted or ground blind hunted. having said that I hunt elk in an area of about 4 acres amongst thousands of national forest acres in Washington state. The area I have is year in and out a natural crossing from water to bedding. I know the typical spots they cross but it can change a little from year to year, even day to day. Usually I just lay down and sleep until I hear them coming as the area is usually very dry, then I stalk after them. The stalk is usually no more than 100 yards. being on the ground makes it easy to move.
My question is when using the DRT method (as right now that is what I am favoring trying first) how quickly and quietly can you descend the tree if you need to go on foot to stalk? Does anyone else get down to stalk deer/elk/bear or whatever?
also when using DRT, when you loop your climbing rope over the branch and then around the trunk, how thick should the branch usually be?
Thanks
also, I've never known of anyone on the west coast to use a saddle, has anyone else?

Hello All,