• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Wheres the pressure? (Central SC)

ThereWillBeSpuds

So this is my first year hunting, and I have seen a lot of hype about how public land is getting hammered and I am just not seeing it. I mean, Im not swimming in deer or anything but I have seen maybe 3 trucks parked on public, run into one person on the road as I was pulling my boots on. Granted, I am hunting mainly Mondays and Tuesdays, but I haven't been seeing any (current, usable) stands or blinds. Haven't been seeing much in the way of boot tracks. Ive seen one camera.

Here is the real question: have I just been picking spots that are so crappy that Im the only person stupid enough to hunt them? I haven't even come close to shooting a deer, so thats what I am assuming.

Only day I have seen any significant hunter presence was thanksgiving morning, and that was all duck hunters.

Hi, I hunt in SNF public land also. Hardly ever see anyone and I hunt mostly on weekends Fri &Sat. I've been to many spots just off of 26 to deeper into SNF. If someone beats me to an area I just go to another. Even much less pressure during bow season. Haven't seen many deer this year. I heard that the processors ar 30% off of normal volumes. Was told that the acorns were to plentiful for them to move around much. I'm a relatively new hunter and not very successful either. I enjoy the hiking and climbing and looking for signs, trying to figure out where they are.