• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Working my way towards a successful hunt this season.

Schemeecho

Hello everyone. As must of you know I am new to not only saddle hunting but still fairly new to hunting in general. I would like to share a little about myself and what I have learned over the past few seasons. Most of which was a due to this site and the forums within it. I started hunting roughly about 6 years ago and started out bow hunting. I did that for two seasons with no luck at all. So I got frustrated with myself and figured that the reason I wasn't being successful was in order to drop something I had to be close, and by close I mean I didn't want to take a shot if it was more then 40 yards. So I sold the bow and bought a rifle. The only thing that changed in two years was my weapon of choice. Still getting frustrated, I was hunting with a few friends and they had no problem filling their tags. I asked all of them what I could be doing wrong. The answers ranged from wrong place wrong time to simply getting busted. I know I wasn't seeing deer so I figured that i was just spooking them or simply setting up wrong. i started to ask myself why was this so hard for me and easy for everyone else? I literally, hopped on Youtube and searched how to hunt deer. I was desperate to make some changes and just didnt know where to start. I started to follow what I was watching and still nothing helped. Then one of my friends said let me help you