• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Explain how you rappel from a tree? I don't understand.

Tedd

Beginner here. Kestrel should arrive next week. Read a lot about climbing but don't know what I'll use.
I keep hearing about rappelling from the tree? Can someone explain please? Do you use a double length rope from your hanging position to the ground? and then pull it down when you hit the ground? What do you wrap the rope around if you don't have a limb? Are you letting the rope in the tree when done? Seems like that big pile of rope would be heavy?
Thanks for your input.
TD

30-40' of static or canyon rope is a little bulky, but depending on your climbing method, its worth its weight in some cases

Tie one end of your rope with a figure 8 on a bight. Attach screw-lock to bight allowing you to girth hitch quickly without running entire length of rope through bight. girth hitch it just like you do your tether...no limb necessary, but you can use them if available.....you just have to learn how to place your knots so it doesn't get stuck on retrieval

Then drop the other end of your rope to the ground

then I use about a 40' piece of paracord that I hook one end up to the screw lock....then I hook the other end of the paracord to my weapon and lower it.