• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Fall gobblers

DelaWhere_Arrow

SH Member
Fall turkey season just opened in Ohio and I finally have my first tag. I’ve been debating it for several years and this year there are just too many birds out and about, I had to get a tag. Who hunts gobblers in the Fall? What tactics, if any, change between Spring and now? What is the same? I’m actually a passable mouth-caller, and have gotten toms to gobble in the Spring with a pinched nose and my own raspy hen voice, and I’m decent on the hockey puck call. There are definitely birds, we’ve been seeing groups of 12+ almost daily In previous years I’ve had opportunities to shoot turkeys while deer hunting but never got a tag. Problem is, now that I have a tag I’m only seeing them when I’m well out of range and/or not actively hunting. I’m planning to use my crossbow but would gladly take one with compound if given the opportunity.
Tips for getting them into bow range at this time of year?

They are gonna feed on similar things to deer. So generally they are in the same area. One option I read but never tried, was find a flock of them. Run at them and split them up. Then sit down and start calling. They say most times they will come back to that spot to re group.. never tried it. But sounds fun..