• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

HSS Tree Ropesand Ropeman 1

Docwaters

Newbie here, have two HSS ropes to use for tether and lineman belt. Purchased two Ropeman 1s, question would you feel safe using the Ropeman 1 without backing them up with a prussik knot?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Newbie here, have two HSS ropes to use for tether and lineman belt. Purchased two Ropeman 1s, question would you feel safe using the Ropeman 1 without backing them up with a prussik knot?

The ropeman is not designed to be used without a backup. A lot of guys do. I have, but after learning more, I switched over to using a Distel Hitch and micro pulley. The Distel is a one way hitch. So unless you are using a double linesman lanyard for bipassing limbs a Distel works fine. The micro pulley allows you to use one hand operation like a ropeman. I have shizll rope sliders for when I get the mantis.

There's plenty of friction hitchs out there besides the prusik that work good for a linemens belt or tether! Only time I recommend a prusik hitch on a linemens belt is if your using a 2 in 1 lanyard and need the hitch to grab in both directions on the belt! If you feel the need to backup the ropeman then why use it? Just buy a good eye to eye hitch cord and tie on a distel,schwabish,michocoan hitch! You could also use a blakes hitch on your tether!

The ropeman is not designed to be used without a backup.