• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Long time lurker, first time poster

Off Topic Guy

Whats up everyone! Been lurking around this forum for about a year now, and figured I'd finally make an account and hopefully contribute some. I've been hunting for about 4 years now (outside of a few outings as a kid) in central AL, and have had an absolute blast getting into the woods, learning, and acquiring gear along the way. When I was about 10-12 yrs old, an uncle took me hunting a couple times and put me in the middle of open hardwoods with a rifle on the ground in a camp chair and I took a young doe as my first harvest. Many many years passed as I grew up and I just didn't have much interest in going back and being so uncomfortable all day long, but I guess I finally came back around.

Season 1, 4 years ago, I went hunting 2-3 times with my uncle again and rifle hunted from the ground in a camp chair, smoking a really young doe on my walk into my spot one morning. It was honestly probably fresh out of spots, but it felt like it was my first deer (and was as an adult now) and was a trophy to me, and those couple times hunting that 1st season sparked something in me. I was prepared to take the next season really seriously after that.