• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Sit Drag with a Rock Climbing Harness

cowboyup_again

Saddlers I am new to this and am attempting to put together my first saddle. I have been using the one stick climbing method with a RC harness and a hang on stand for a few years now and the natural progression has occured.
So I want to keep the linemans belt attachments on my Rock Climbing harness in case I want to use my hang-on stand but if not I will use the Saddle. So, should I put the Sit Drag saddle in a pouch and hang it from my RC harness as I climb the tree and pull it out and employ it at hunting height? Or somehow attach it with a belt or clips fully deployed and hang pouches from it for the walk in and subsequent climb? If I fully deploy it while climbing and walking in, I worry it will get in the way and how would i keep it from hanging down around below my hips like a gangster rapper? I
have searched the forum but haven't found any stickies that show how to employ a sit drag with a rock climbing harness.

Making a belt for the SitDrag is a popular solution.

I used to hang mine from my Linesman's belt loops with elastic. I have pulled the bridge over and behind my head like suspenders *but be thoughtful about wearing things around your neck while climbing.

However you do it, it is more convenient to have it in place and ready to go.