• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Climbing sticks

matt23h

So I am in the market to buy some climbing sticks. Trying to figure out which ones to get I been eyeing the beast sticks. Any suggestions on sticks would be appreciated and pros and cons. I’m new to saddle hunting and not ready to try one sticking yet.

How high do you like you hunt?
What step distance are you comfortable with?
Are you planing on using a aider, what type.
I like 17-20’ hunting height. I’m 5’6 so 20-24” step. I was think of running an aider off the bottom step I seen the two step aider for the bottom. If I need to I will run a one step aider on the rest.

I believe best bang for the buck is Novix/trophyline I did not like my API/muddy stand offs. Saying that Im using now discontinued 24" beast sticks and while it's a stretch step to step I can get by with 3 and typically use no aides.

Edit, I'm 5'8 and flexible with no plans on changing

I like 17-20’ hunting height. I’m 5’6 so 20-24” step. I was think of running an aider off the bottom step I seen the two step aider for the bottom. If I need to I will run a one step aider on the rest.
In a 20" step, the Shikar, LWCG and Beast are the ones that I know of. There may be others.

I believe best bang for the buck is Novix/trophyline I did not like my API/muddy stand offs. Saying that Im using now discontinued 24" beast sticks and while it's a stretch step to step I can get by with 3 and typically use no aides.