• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Crossbows

Billfresh

I am very new to this saddle hunting. I've been hunting for almost 3 decades but this saddle hunting? Well let's just say I still have that new hunter smell.

I have not seen any posts from crossbow hunters. I have a Hoyt compound I enjoy hunting with but I also have a Ravin crossbow I love. I can see myself using both, depending on the situation and my mood. Is saddle hunting generally an issue for crossbow hunters?

Thanks for any feedback. I researched the snot out of it and finally just hit the buy button on a new Kestral and a set of Steppladder rungs. Waiting for them to arrive and this saddle chapter will begin. I won't lie....hanging from a "lifeline" kind of scares me but I think I just need to experience it and get over the concerns.

I hunt with a xbow, specifically an Excalibur Micro, and hunted out of a Kestrel this past year with no problems. There are several other members on here that also hunt with a xbow. You won't have any problems, and it won't take you long at all to get comfortable hanging from a rope. You will quickly realize how safe it is, and feels. This was my first year hunting from a saddle and I wish I would have made the switch earlier.

You just have to be careful of what those limbs are going to do when you take a shot. You're probably going to be closer to the tree in the Kestrel than whatever you were using before.