• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Knots.....

Matt G.

Hey Guys.....

New saddle hunter here, and I have a request.

One of the more intimidating things about saddle hunting for me is relying on knots. I've fished my whole life, and have a high level of confidence in knots for many different applications.

Rope on the other hand I have no experience with. Hanging 20 feet in the air with my back to the ground is reckless.....unless I'm confident not only that my knots are tied appropriately, but that I've tied the appropriate knot for my needs.

I can't tell you how many posts I've read where specific knots become a topic......and I just can't follow where or why the poster is using it.

Can anyone chime in as to what knots a new saddle hunter should learn, and where you suggest they apply them?

Thanks guys.....

Hey Guys.....

New saddle hunter here, and I have a request.

One of the more intimidating things about saddle hunting for me is relying on knots. I've fished my whole life, and have a high level of confidence in knots for many different applications.

Rope on the other hand I have no experience with. Hanging 20 feet in the air with my back to the ground is reckless.....unless I'm confident not only that my knots are tied appropriately, but that I've tied the appropriate knot for my needs.