• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Making Aiders

Matt G.

Oct 18, 2017
SE LP Michigan
Hi guys.....

I'm new to saddle hunting, and have been working on procuring all the gear I need for my system. I hunt my 40 acres, on which I plan on using spurs or bolts. I also hunt a buddy's property, and the state land that it abuts. I picked up a set of Muddy Aerolite sticks for use on the state land where spurs and bolts aren't permitted.

I'd like to add two-step aiders to my sticks, but unsure how to go about this. I have a dozen or so of the cheap harnesses that came with the various stands I've previously used. I screwed around and made a one step aider using this material, but I dont love it, and wasnt able to come up with an intuitive way to make a two-step at all.

Can anyone share how to make a two-step aider? Materials, how tied, etc. I dont sew, so hopefully this isn't required. Safety/ease of use are my priorities, since this is all new to me.

Any advice is appreciated.

elk yinzer

SH Member
Oct 23, 2017
State College, PA
I have been through a few different webbing iterations and didn't care too much for them, so far my favorite is the most recent I made of 7mm static cord. I like the simplicity and versatility of the movable aiders. It certainly isn't the most lightweight, if that is a concern amsteel will be a good bit lighter.