• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New guy, old questions

Cameron

Hey all, I've been skimming through the website for several months and have even purchased a sitdrag earlier this summer. I'm not a tree stand hunter, usually because I never can be still long enough and rarely go to the same place twice. However, there are many times where I've still-hunted all day and want to sit and wait at a wallow or saddle. Most places I'm hunting in have 4-6 foot tall berry bushes and if I can get above this height (say 8-12 feet) I think I could hunt the area very well.

So here's my thought: if I can carry a sitdrag with a rope bridge and one of two options for tethers, then I could always keep it in my pack and use it when a good opportunity arises. For the tether, I'm thinking of either a long line with a girth hitch around a stout limb which I could climb with a Purcell Prussik set. I'm familiar with this setup from search and rescue training a few years ago, but only used it in training sessions. The other option I was looking at was the "stealth climb" where I use a rope stirrup to sit stand my way up the tree.

I'm looking to buy some shorts from Sterling but I don't know how long to get since I'm unsure of the two climbing methods. Any input? I would also like to get my adjustable bridge from the purchased length as well, so I was going to add 3-4 feet.

Any input would be great, or let me know if I missed any details.